Top 5 Songs/Artists/Genres To Write Code To

The geekdom series continues with the top 5 things to listen to while coding. I know this seems like an obscure post, but there’s actually a lot of theory around it. You see, geeks (read “coders”) like me need time to “get in the zone.” In other words, we need time to drown out the outside world and get focused on what we have to do. I’m not trying to say we need special attention or job is particular hard (it isn’t)… it’s just the way it is with writing code… very similar to writing an essay or doing a very hard math problem. Sorry, I always digress. Back to the point. Here’s the list.

5. The Rockband Soundtrack (No link, search for them on The Pirate Bay)

Caught some of you off guard with this one. Yeah, it’s number 5. It’s good for the casual day of coding at work, when you’re just not quite sure what to put on iTunes/Rythmbox, but you need something. The nice variety of upbeat tones can get you to lunch, at least.

4. Norah Jones (Samples Link)

With a deadline quickly approaching (or in my usual situation, already passed), nothing can calm you down and keep you from over-stressing quite like Norah Jones. It’s also fairly ambient. You don’t feel compelled to listen to the lyrics and lose your focus like you would some other artists. Her soothing voice is just enough to get you through the hectic times. I won’t list examples — they’re all good.

3. Coldplay (Samples Link)

Hmmm, how do I classify this one? I think it could be best described as “power-coding” music. You don’t want something ambient, but you also don’t want something that’s going to make you rock out of your chair. Coldplay seems to strike a nice balance between the two. And of course, their music is weird, so it probably fits your personality pretty well. Check out “Clocks” (of course), “The Scientist,” and “Square One.”

2. Death Cab for Cutie (Samples Link)

My girlfriend will probably get very excited when she reads this one. But the truth is, it’s really good music to write code to. I’ve found on more than one occasion it gets me into the all-praised super-focused mode, when the best code is written. Just an all around great band and good music to type in the geekbox to. Check out “Passenger Seat” (so beautiful), “Translantacism,” and “Brothers on a Hotel Bed.”

1. Digitally Imported — Chillout Station (Website, Stream Link)

Number one by a long shot. Why? This station only augments the effects of the aforementioned super-focused mode. Get in the zone, turn this station on, and watch your fingers steamroll through a project. This particular music seems to be best accompanied by coffee, lava lamps, and complete darkness (minus the lava lamp glow of course). If you’re feeling rich, spring for the Premium subscription. The quality difference is noticeable even for casual listeners.

Of course, it depends entirely on your personal tastes and preferences. But if you’re lost or just looking for something different, these 5 are a good place to start.

That concludes this geekdom post. I’m going to run out of these eventually. But until then… I’m open for suggestions on other good music to code by.

5 Responses

  1. Dude any techno/electronica song is good for me. But then, I don’t code real code like you, though. Anyways it is about the only music i can listen to “passively” and still gets me going. It is not that I really like techno particularly, but it makes me keep on going,.. going,.. going.

  2. YESSSS. DEATH CAB. COLDPLAY. EEK.

  3. Love these suggestions – I agree wholeheartedly! You should also check out Zero 7 and Gretchen Lieberum, I find those good choices too. 🙂

  4. Lame-ass tunes, if I may say so!

  5. Bri,
    Have you ever listened to John Scofield? He’s a jazz guy, but I feel like it might be decent to code to. Let me know what you think

Leave a comment