authenticity

So this post started while I was in Chicago last month. I figured I would finish it and post it.

While I was in Chicago, I noticed something about people. I was in a store and they greeted us like this,

“Hello, welcome. How are you guys doing today?”

“Hi, I am doing great, thanks. How are you today?” I replied

“Oh well I’m good.” she murmured in a fading tone

It was obvious to me at least that she really wasn’t having a good day and just felt like saying that she was good. Why is this? Is it because it has become the norm to automatically reply in this fashion. It seems like society has made it too awkward to be original with people. To actually let people know that you are just doing okay or bad is not popular. At first, I thought this was just maybe because she was at work, but I have since noticed this all around and even with my friends and family at times. If you know me well, you know that I can usually tell when somebody is not doing well, even when they try to hide it. This seems to be one of my very few gifts I have but still.

Anyways, why is it that our reaction to this sort of question is always to try and look like we have everything together. We all know that we don’t so why do we hide this? Anyways, these are just some random thoughts from a pathological procrastinator. (I should be studying right now)

Leave a comment